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BACKGROUND 
 

In 2006, 3,345 people died from firearm-
related injuries in California and an additional 
4,491 people were hospitalized for non-fatal 
gunshot wounds.i  California law forbids 
convicted felons and certain misdemeanants 
from possessing firearms, recognizing that 
these individuals represent the greatest risk for 
future firearm violence.  Gaps in the law, 
however, have allowed many of these criminals 
to retain firearms they owned before being 
convicted.  As a result, the Department of 
Justice estimates that as many as 60,000 
convicted criminals currently possess firearms 
in California despite being prohibited by law.ii  
AB 814 seeks to reduce this significant threat 
to public safety. 
 
EXISTING LAW  
 

Penal Code § 12021 prohibits persons from 
possessing firearms when they have been 
convicted of a felony or one of a number of 
misdemeanor offenses.  Using a notice and 
form created by the Department of Justice, 
defendants are advised to transfer their 
firearms to a third party designee who must, 
within thirty days, relinquish the firearms to a 
local law enforcement agency, sell or transfer 
them to a third party through a licensed 
firearms dealer, or sell them to a dealer.  
Existing law provides no mechanism, however, 
to ensure that these firearms are actually 
relinquished. 
 
Penal Code § 12021.3 also allows prohibited 
persons who relinquish their firearms to a law 
enforcement agency to sell those firearms.  
Currently, any firearms relinquished to or seized 
by law enforcement must be retained and 
stored by law enforcement for at least 180 
days, during which the prohibited person may 
sell the weapons.  This law places an undue 
burden upon law enforcement to store the 
firearms of convicted criminals for a lengthy 
period of time. 
 

 
THIS BILL 
 

ESTABLISHES A CLEAR PROCESS FOR TIMELY 
FIREARM RELINQUISHMENT 
 
AB 814 will facilitate enforcement of existing 
state laws prohibiting illegal firearm possession 
by establishing a clear process and timeline for 
firearm relinquishment by prohibited persons.  
Under the bill, upon conviction of a crime 
disqualifying a defendant from firearm 
possession, a defendant must be instructed by 
the judge that he or she is prohibited from 
owning or possessing any firearms.  The judge 
must also provide the defendant with a notice 
and form describing the manner in which 
firearms may be relinquished and the penalties 
attached to failure to comply. 
 
Upon conviction, a prohibited person must 
transfer his or her firearms to a designee who 
must sell the firearms to a dealer, sell or 
transfer them to a third party through a dealer, 
or relinquish them to local law enforcement.  If 
the prohibited person is not in law enforcement 
custody following conviction, the relinquishment 
process must be completed within 5 days.  If 
the prohibited person remains in custody, the 
process must be completed within 14 days. 
 
REQUIRES PROHIBITED PERSONS TO DECLARE 
FIREARM OWNERSHIP 
 
Under the bill, all prohibited persons must, 
within the relinquishment period, submit a form 
to local law enforcement stating: 1) whether or 
not they owned any firearms to relinquish; and 
2) if so, to whom any firearms were 
relinquished. 
 
ENCOURAGES LAW ENFORCEMENT TO 
RETRIEVE PROHIBITED WEAPONS  
 
The bill encourages local law enforcement to 
review each defendant’s sworn submissions 
against the Department of Justice’s handgun 
transfer databases to help identify prohibited 
persons who have lied about firearm ownership 
or relinquishment in their sworn submissions.  
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The bill also encourages law enforcement to 
retrieve prohibited weapons whenever possible. 
 
REDUCES BURDEN ON LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 
This bill reduces the length of time during which 
law enforcement must retain a prohibited 
person’s firearms following relinquishment, 
from 180 days to 30 days.  If a prohibited 
person has not, through his or her designee, 
sold a firearm by the end of the 30 days, it 
becomes the property of the law enforcement 
agency. 
 

BILL STATUS 
 

2/26/09: Introduced 
4/14/09: ASM Public Safety Committee (7-0) 
5/28/09:  ASM Appropriations (12-0) 
6/3/09: ASM Floor (72-3) 
Proceeding to Senate 
 

SUPPORT 
 

Sponsor: Legal Community Against Violence 
o California Partnership to End Domestic 

Violence 
o City of Los Angeles 
o City of Oakland 
o Ken James, Chief of Police for the City of 

Emeryville 
o Randy G. Adams, Chief of Police for the 

City of Glendale  
o Chris Magnus, Chief of Police for the 

City of Richmond 
o Craig T. Steckler, Chief of Police for the 

City of Fremont   
o Paul M. Walters, Chief of Police for the 

City of Santa Ana 
o Blair Ulring, Chief of Police for the City of 

Stockton 
o Kamala D. Harris, District Attorney City 

and County of San Francisco  
o Tom Orloff, District Attorney for 

Alameda County 
o Coalition Against Gun Violence (Santa 

Barbara) 
o Coalition To Stop Gun Violence  
o Crime Victims United 
o Friends Committee on Legislation 
o Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun 

Violence, California Chapters 

o  Oakland/Alameda County, Orange 
County, Nevada County and Sacramento 
Chapters of Brady Campaign to Prevent 
Gun Violence 

o Peace Over Violence (LACAAW) 
o Physicians for Social Responsibility 
o Rainbow Services, Ltd.  
o Women Against Gun Violence 
o Youth ALIVE! 
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Josefina Ramirez  -  (916) 319-2043 
 

Legal Community Against Violence  
Juliet Leftwich & Ben Van Houten  
(415) 433-2062 
                                                 
i California Department of Health Services, Epidemiology and 
Prevention for Injury Control Branch (EPIC), Firearm Injuries 
in California (2009), at 
http://www.applications.dhs.ca.gov/epicdata/content/st_firear
m.htm. 
ii California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney 
General, Brown Cracks Down on Illegal Gun Possession, 
News Release, Dec. 10, 2007, at: 
http://ag.ca.gov/newsalerts/release.php?id=1505. 


